Aug 29: Why do we Explore Space?

Time: Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017, at 12:30pm for 80 minutes ( 3 months ago )

Aug 31: Motion on Earth and in Space

Time: Thursday, Aug 31, 2017, at 12:30pm for 80 minutes ( 3 months ago )

Sep 5: Newton's Laws

Time: Tuesday, Sep 5, 2017, at 12:30pm for 80 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 7: Fiske Planetarium - Back to the Moon & Conservation Laws

Time: Thursday, Sep 7, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 12: Energy and Gravity

Time: Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 14: Gravity and Spacecraft Trajectories

Time: Thursday, Sep 14, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 19: Early Years of NASA

Time: Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 21: The Apollo Program

Time: Thursday, Sep 21, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 26: The Space Shuttle and the International Space Station

Time: Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Sep 28: Commercial Space Transportation Systems

Time: Thursday, Sep 28, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Oct 3: The Fundamentals of Space Telescopes

Time: Tuesday, Oct 3, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 months ago )

Oct 4: Review Session for Exam 1

  • Located in our regular classroom.

Time: Wednesday, Oct 4, 2017, at 5:00pm for 60 minutes ( 1 month ago )
Location: Duane G130

Oct 5: Exam #1

  • Exam 1 covers:
  • All the reading since Aug. 29th through Sep. 28th.
  • All homework assignments.
  • Space in the News articles/discussions.
  • All material discussed in class including in-class group exercises & clicker questions.
  • Review session on Oct. 4 at 5 pm in Duane G130 (regular classroom).
  • Exam#1 Solutions: http://lunar.colorado...1Solns.pdf

Time: Thursday, Oct 5, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 month ago )

Oct 10: Fiske Planetarium: Hubble and James Webb Space Telescopes

Time: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 month ago )

Oct 12: Overview of Space Telescopes at other Wavelengths

Time: Thursday, Oct 12, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 month ago )

Oct 17: How to Design a NASA Space Science Mission: The Dark Ages Radio Explorer (DARE)

Time: Tuesday, Oct 17, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 month ago )

Oct 19: Space Weather and Space Radiation

Time: Thursday, Oct 19, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 month ago )

Oct 24: Origin & Evolution of the Moon

Time: Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 4 weeks ago )

Oct 26: Fiske Planetarium: Return to the Moon

Time: Thursday, Oct 26, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 3 weeks ago )

Oct 30: Exam 2 Review Session

  • Review session for Exam 3 in Duane G1B20.

Time: Monday, Oct 30, 2017, at 5:00pm for 60 minutes ( 3 weeks ago )
Location: Duane G1B20

Oct 31: Exam #2

  • Exam #2 covers all the reading Oct. 3-26.
  • Covers Homework #4 and #5.
  • Review Space in the News articles/discussions.
  • Covers all material discussed in class including in-class group exercises & clicker questions.
  • One page (front + back) of notes allowed. Bring a calculator that is NOT on your phone.
  • Study with another member in the class!
  • Exam #2 Solutions: http://lunar.colorado..._solns.pdf

Time: Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 3 weeks ago )

Nov 2: Fiske Planetarium: Exploring Mars

Time: Thursday, Nov 2, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 weeks ago )

Nov 7: Robotic & Human Exploration of Mars

Time: Tuesday, Nov 7, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 weeks ago )

Nov 9: Fiske Planetarium: Earth as a Planet

Time: Thursday, Nov 9, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 week ago )

Nov 14: Mercury and Venus

Time: Tuesday, Nov 14, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 5 days ago )

Nov 16: Venus

Time: Thursday, Nov 16, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 3 days ago )

Nov 21: Fall Break - No Class

Time: Tuesday, Nov 21, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 days from now )

Nov 23: Fall Break - No Class

Time: Thursday, Nov 23, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 4 days from now )

Nov 28: The Jovian Planets & Their Water Worlds

  • Reading: Chapter 11 in Cosmic Perspective.

Time: Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 1 week from now )

Nov 30: Exam #3

Time: Thursday, Nov 30, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 weeks from now )

Dec 5: Asteroids & Planetary Protection

Time: Tuesday, Dec 5, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 2 weeks from now )

Dec 7: Pluto & the Kuiper Belt

Time: Thursday, Dec 7, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 3 weeks from now )

Dec 12: Fiske Planetarium: Einstein & Interstellar Travel

Time: Tuesday, Dec 12, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 3 weeks from now )

Dec 14: Exoplanets & Review of the Semester

Time: Thursday, Dec 14, 2017, at 12:30pm for 75 minutes ( 4 weeks from now )

Dec 18: Final Exam

Time: Monday, Dec 18, 2017, at 4:30pm for 150 minutes ( 4 weeks from now )